Richard C. Evans Distinguished Mathematics Educator Award

At the March 2007 New Hampshire Teachers of mathematics Annual Conference, the Richard C. Evans Distinguished Mathematics Educator Award was announced to honor and thank Dr. Evans for his years of service in mathematics education. The intent of this award is to highlight creativity and innovation in the teaching of mathematics to all students. The recipient of this award will represent Dr. Evans' philosophy, passion and knowledge of mathematics education. The award is presented annually at the spring conference. Nominees are being sought for this year.


Qualifications for the Award


The recipient will:

  • Be an experienced teacher or someone who works actively with teachers or students with 5 or more years’ experience teaching mathematics at any level (Pre-K to 16) in New Hampshire.
  • Be enthusiastic, knowledgeable, and passionate as a person, teacher, and leader reflecting the character traits as demonstrated by Dr. Evans.
  • Demonstrate thinking and reasoning abilities that use models to make mathematics meaningful to students.
  • Portray a dedication and organized focus for his/her teaching inside and outside the classroom.
  • Actively demonstrate an unsurpassed passion for mathematical processes to include problem-solving, reasoning, proof, communication, connections and representations.
  • Apply knowledge of standards- and researched-based instructional and assessment strategies in his/her classroom with a true commitment that all children can learn mathematics.
  • Offer collegiality to fellow mathematics educators through sharing of information, serving as a mentor, offering professional development support, engaging in professional learning communities, serving on school, district or state professional groups, or through other opportunities to enhance the culture and climate of an educational community.
  • Be involved with the mathematics educational community through membership and participation in district, regional, state, or national mathematics organizations. His/her involvement has led to significant impact on the mathematics education of students, fellow teachers, administration, parents, or other community members.

Click here for award details and application procedures.


Nominations open October 15 

Completed Nomination Form is due by December 15 and should be sent to:

NHTM Elementary Representative


Completed Nomination Packets are due no later than January 15


If you have questions, you may contact the NHTM Elementary Rep at

Past Recipients

2008 Greg Superchi, Lisbon Regional High School, Lisbon

2009 Stephanie Wheeler, Henry Wilson School, Manchester

2010 Greta Mills, Hanover High School

2011 Dr. Beverly Ferrucci, Keene State College

2012 Christine Downing, Newport School District

2013 Lisa Gingras, Nashua High School South

2014 Lynn Tassi, Mountain View Middle School, Goffstown

2015 No Award Given

2016 No Award Given

2017 Jess Jacques, Merrimack Valley School District 

2018 Dr. Rachel Fairhurst, Ross Lurgio Middle School

2019 Dan Pooler, Hudson Memorial Middle School

2020 Amy McGuigan, Souhegan High School

2021 No Award Given

2022 No Award Given

2023 Chelsea Folini, Pennichuck Middle School

2024 Heather Burkett, Hampstead Central School

2024 Evans Award recipient Heather Burkett with Elementary Representative Ann Elise Record


© NH Teachers of Mathematics
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software