Dear Colleagues and Friends,

It is with profound sadness that I inform you that Ferd Prevost has passed away.  In addition to being a founder of NHTM, he was an iconic figure making great contributions to mathematics education in NH and beyond.  He was a major factor in the development of countless teachers, including myself.  Knowing Ferd was an honor and a privilege that I will forever cherish and remember.  The mathematics community has indeed lost one of its heroes.

You can read Ferd's full obituary here.

Rob Lukasiak
NHTM President

Fernand J. Prevost Mathematics Teaching Award


Nominees are being sought for the annual FERNAND J. PREVOST MATHEMATICS TEACHING AWARD. NHTM is presenting the award in recognition of the contribution that Ferd has made to the mathematics educators of New Hampshire during his thirty years as the state mathematics consultant. The award is being given to a beginning teacher in her/his first through fifth year who meets the following criteria which exemplify the characteristics which Ferd has brought to his teaching:

  • commitment to good mathematics

  • confidence that all children can learn

  • a spirit of self reflection and professional curiosity

  • caring and concern for colleagues

  • a willingness to explore, to learn, and to grow as a teacher of mathematics

  • a willingness to share mathematical and pedagogical activities with others

 The recipient will receive a plaque of achievement, a $250 prize, and a one year membership to NHTM. The  presentation of the award will be made at the NHTM Spring Conference.

 The 2019 Prevost Award Nomination Form is found by clicking Prevost Award Nomination Form or obtained by sending a request to Raina Eckhardt at

    Nominations open October 15

    Nominations are due by December 15


     Contact Raina Eckhardt for more information at

     View the 2019 Prevost Award Nominee Cover Form: 2019 Prevost Award Nominee Cover Form.

     View the 2019 Prevost Award Nominee Application Procedure: 2019 Prevost Award Nominee Application Procedure.


  Completed Nomination Packets must be received by January 15

       Send to: 


Raina Eckhardt

Mathematics Program Coordinator

Department of Mathematics and Physics

Manchester Community College

1066 Front Street

Manchester, NH 03102

       Or email directly to:


Past recipients:

   1995 Toni Taylor, Keene High School

   1996 Kim Knighton, Profile School

   1997 Delia LeFebrvre, Monroe Elem. Sch.

   1998 Richard T. Elliot, Fall Mountain Regional

   1999 Megan Fowler, Brattleboro MS

   2000 Leah Adamowicz, Hollis Brookline JHS

   2001 Cynthia Sanschagrin, Hanover High School

   2002 Marina J. Capen from Souhegan High School

   2003 Adam Wiggan, Cooperative Middle School, Stratham

   2004 Anne Boisvert, Manchester Memorial High School

   2005 Craig Sheil, Monadnock Regional High School

   2006 April M. Guinness, Mascoma Valley Regional High School

   2007 Brian O'Connell, Oyster River High School

   2008 Andrea Drake, Goffstown High School

   2009 Scott Currier, Belmont High School

   2010 Jarrod Shaheen, Lebanon High School

   2011 Amanda Benware, Bedford High School

   2012 Sarah Spears, Alton Central School

   2013 Pat Marquette, Hollis Brookline Middle School

   2014 No Award Given

   2015 Nathan Bracy, Goffstown High School

   2016 Stefan Fritz, Bedford High School

   2017 Elisabeth Murphy, Henry Moore School

   2018 Dominick Torro, Pinkerton Academy

   2019 Leonie Freemantle, Hudson Memoral School


Fernand J. Prevost Mathematics Teaching Award 

The two finalists for the 2019 Fernand J. Prevost Mathematics Teaching Award are:

1. Christina Guessetto of John Stark HS

2. Leonie Freemantle of Hudson Memorial School

Both are very strong candidates and deserving of the honor. Congratulations to both on their hard work as teachers and budding leaders in their profession.

This year’s Prevost award winner is Leonie Freemantle. All members of the Prevost Award committee were impressed with the Creativity, Professionalism, Leadership, and Care for All Students that Leonie has demonstrated after only 1+ years as a teacher of mathematics. To share some of the reasons why we chose Leonie as the winner, I’ve picked out a few quotes from her recommenders.

One colleague noted that: “It is rare to find someone right out of college who has such a deep passion and understanding for educating children… and who has a strong willingness to share ideas with others.” Another colleague said: “Leonie’s lessons are thoughtful and engaging, yet rigorous. At the same time, students find her

easy to approach, understanding and encouraging.” I think the following quote sums it up nicely: “[Leonie] has been at Hudson Memorial School for just over one year and she exemplifies characteristics of an experienced middle school teacher. Leonie embodies the characteristics that Ferd Prevost would be proud to hear about.”



© NH Teachers of Mathematics
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software